Akeelah and the Bee

akeelah.jpg

YOU MUST SEE THIS MOVIE! Yes, I’m screaming, but this was probably the best movie I’ve seen since „Blood Diamond“. I had heard „Ebert and Roeper“ rave about it months ago and finally, it got released on DVD and popped up in my Amango (aka the German netflix) queque! First, you have to know, that I am kind of obsessed with „Spelling Bees“. I find them fascinating, as we do not have anything alike here in Germany. I’d even say our school system approaches „spelling“ in a entirely different way. Last year, I saw „Bee Season„, which was strange, but interesting as well. Akeelah however, is much much better. The movie captures a little part of a very special girl in a not so special environment! On her way to becoming America’s Next Spelling Champion, she manages to save herself, her family, her coach, her school and her entire community. The movie does not engange in too much sappy scenes: it is funny and smart and simply heart-warming. Go, get it on DVD and thank me later!

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter English, Gesehen/ Seeing veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

4 Antworten zu Akeelah and the Bee

  1. Ford schreibt:

    Thanks for the heads up on the movie. I’ll be on the lookout for it.

  2. Craig schreibt:

    I haven’t seen the movie, but I do remember spelling bees. I always did well in them, but it wasn’t a matter of studying. If I could remember having seen the word, I could spell it. I could literally see the word in my mind’s eye. It was easier for me than reading the top few lines on the eye chart and back then I had fighter pilot eyes and could read the bottom line on the eye chart. How is spelling taught in Germany?

  3. Spelling is mainly taught in „Diktaten“. Meaning, that kids practice some kind of word or spelling rule and then get dictated a text. They have to write it down. But I have never seen anyone actually spell out loud…
    It is very cool though, that you could actually see the word before your eyes!

  4. Craig schreibt:

    I guess that makes sense because German is spoken the same way it’s written, every sign having a distinct sound applied according to a consistent set of rules. English is just a hodge podge of words, some Celtic, quite a few derived from Anglo-Saxon or Frisian, many others from Latin, with lots of French, Italian, Spanish, German and Norse words tossed in to round out the mix. Rules for pronunciation are quite variable; some are followed, some aren’t. Any time you cite a rule, the first thing that comes to mind is all of the exceptions. I used to tutor Japanese adults learning English as a second language and I remember trying to explain the spelling of words like ‚debris‘. I was always apologizing for the confoundedness of my language.

Kommentar verfassen

